In Memory of a true Irish Gem

I’ve had a bit of an hiatus from the blogoshpere, but am excited to get back!

Unfortunately, my grandmother passed away last week. She lived to be 94 years old, raised two stellar children, and was adored by two doting grand-daughters. She taught me how to bake, sew, and make everything with care.

Irish Hearts
Madeline Lanzendorf • January 22, 2013

I knit these hearts in her honor. The natural yarn is actually from the Aran Islands in Ireland – a cabled heart for an Irish gem. The red hearts were knit with Manos del Uruguay Handspun.

Tagged , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “In Memory of a true Irish Gem

  1. Charlie says:

    Your Grandmother- was my aunt, I remember growing up and always looking forward to Christmas Eve dinner at her house, playing pool with cousin Sally and Jack (he always won).Dinner at theirhouse was always special and the house always smelled good. She was the sweetest woman on the planet- She was my grandpa’s sister. There will always be a special place in my heart for her. Uncle Johnny taught me about fishing.

  2. Geraldine says:

    that’s a lovely and thoughtful tribute.

Leave a Reply

