Brioche Blankets for Babes

I love knitting –shock– because there are always new things to learn. I’ve been knitting for almost 7 years and I learn new stitches, techniques, and tricks constantly. I find it keeps my skills fresh and even helps me understand or improve on the basics.

One of my favorite advanced stitches is Brioche. The first time I tried Brioche was for my niece’s baby blanket. Brioche is a fascinating stitch as you pull two yarns through each row separately – it’s hard to explain without getting technical. What this does is create two very different sides to the finished product. It comes out as ribbing, but (depending on what stitch and how many colors) the knits and purls comes out as different colors and the two different sides emphasize a different color.

20130213_Cousins_elizaThis is Eliza, my sister’s daughter. For this blanket, I used Blue Sky Alpaca’s Hand-Dyed Worsted (a wool / alpaca blend). While this came out beautifully … I wish I had gone with something more washable! For this blanket, we’re looking at the side that emphasizes the green knit stitch and receding orange purl stitch. The other side is the opposite – an orange knit dominates the green purl.

For my second adventure into Brioche, I made another baby blanket (though delivered a little late, it was more of a toddler blanket) for my other niece.

20130213_Cousins_aspenThis is Aspen, my brother’s daughter, giving her auntie a kiss from across the country. For Aspen’s blanket, I played with stripes on one side and a solid color for the other side. You can see the two very different sides depicted much better above. For Aspen’s blanket, I used Spud & Chloe’s Sweater yarn – a superwash which can with stand a washing machine, though I wouldn’t recommend the machine.

A great and wealthy source for learning Brioche Knitting is briochestitch.com.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

